The Northwest Territories Branch of the Canadian Bar Association is governed by a President, Vice-President, Secretary-Treasurer and Past-President.  A Secretary-Treasurer is elected at the Summer Annual General Meeting. Each officer serves a one-year term in his or her position, coincident with the financial year of the branch, so that at the start of each financial year the previous President becomes the immediate Past-President, the previous Vice-President becomes the President, and the previous Secretary-Treasurer becomes the Vice-President.

Sections are organized to study particular branches of law and pertinent issues of the day. All 41 National Sections are administered by a Section Executive Committee, generally composed of a Chair, Vice-chair, and Treasurer.